DataDepartment Store Sales

General Retail

Department Store Sales

Confirmed revenue and operating profit for Korea's top 5 department store chains. Covers annual total store sales (2020–2025) through Q1/Q2 2026 segment results and H1 2026 (Jan–Jun) disclosed results from H1 reports; Lotte, Shinsegae, Hyundai, and Galleria are updated through H1 (Galleria on a consolidated basis). AK Plaza remains undisclosed.

Source — Apparel News and other industry compilations · DART/company IR (Lotte, Shinsegae, Hyundai, Galleria, AK)

H1 2026 (Jan–Jun) Disclosed Results

Unit: KRW billion · from DART H1 reports · Galleria is on a consolidated company-wide basis (simple sum of Q1+Q2) · AK Plaza's H1 segment figures were not disclosed

Lotte Department Store
₩1,763.5B
Shinsegae Department Store
₩1,473B
Hyundai Department Store
₩1,276.4B
Galleria Department Store
₩277B
CompanyRevenueOperating ProfitOperating MarginRevenue YoYOperating Profit YoY
Lotte Department Store₩1,763.5B₩310.9B17.6%+8.7%+59.4%
Shinsegae Department Store₩1,473B₩249.8B17.0%+15.0%+39.7%
Hyundai Department Store₩1,276.4B₩246B19.3%+8.3%+47.7%
Galleria Department Store₩277B₩27.4B9.9%——
AK PlazaN/AN/A———
  • Lotte Department Store — ⚠️ Press reports for this figure ranged from KRW 1.7243 trillion to KRW 4.5233 trillion — we used KRW 1.7635 trillion (+8.7%), which exactly matches the sum of the Q1+Q2 revenue above (KRW 872.3B + 891.2B) and was independently confirmed by two outlets. See the page's data notes for the other reported figures and our reasoning
  • Shinsegae Department Store — Basis: net revenue (accounting-recognized) — exactly matches summing the Q1+Q2 net revenue above (KRW 734.5B + 738.5B). The segment KPI Shinsegae discloses each quarter is total store sales including tenant-brand sales (KRW 2 trillion-plus range), and that figure must never be summed or compared with this one. Operating profit is Q1's KRW 141.0B + Q2's KRW 108.8B = KRW 249.8B (on the basis that folds in the Gwangju/Daegu/Daejeon subsidiaries and excludes Shinsegae Simon) — KRW 1.1B different from The Tracker's reported KRW 248.7B, so we used this direct sum of the quarterly figures. The operating-profit YoY (+39.7%) is back-calculated from the quarterly YoY rates (+30.7%/+53.5%)
  • Hyundai Department Store — The company's officially announced H1 cumulative figure. Simply adding the Q1+Q2 revenue (KRW 632.5B + 643.8B) and operating profit (KRW 135.8B + 110.1B) above gives KRW 1,276.3B and KRW 245.9B — each KRW 100 million lower — a gap from rounding each quarter's figure to the nearest KRW 100 million, so we used the company's official H1 figure. Highest H1 revenue and operating profit on record · The Hyundai Seoul and Trade Center store foreign-customer revenue up +134%/+131% respectively
  • Galleria Department Store — ⚠️ Consolidated basis (Hanwha Galleria company-wide) — the department store segment alone is not separately disclosed. No H1 total was found in press coverage, so this is a simple sum of the Q1+Q2 figures above and was not independently confirmed
  • AK Plaza — An unlisted company — H1 2026 department store segment figures were not separately disclosed

2026 Q2 Department Store Segment Revenue

Unit: KRW billion · Lotte, Shinsegae, Hyundai, and Galleria have disclosed · Galleria is on a consolidated basis (not department-store-segment-only) · AK Plaza's Q2 segment figures remain undisclosed

Lotte Department Store
₩891.2B
Shinsegae Department Store
₩738.5B
Hyundai Department Store
₩643.8B
Galleria Department Store
₩150.9B
CompanyRevenueOperating ProfitOperating MarginRevenue YoYOperating Profit YoY
Lotte Department Store₩891.2B₩119.7B13.4%+9.2%+84.1%
Shinsegae Department Store₩738.5B₩108.8B14.7%+17.5%+53.5%
Hyundai Department Store₩643.8B₩110.1B17.1%+9.1%+58.6%
Galleria Department Store₩150.9B₩15.1B10.0%+18.9%—
AK PlazaN/AN/A———
  • Lotte Department Store — Domestic: revenue KRW 855.6B (+8.8%), operating profit KRW 112.3B (+77.6%); Overseas: revenue KRW 35.6B (+20.6%), operating profit KRW 7.4B (+309.7%, strong Vietnam sales) — combined domestic+overseas figures
  • Shinsegae Department Store — Put on the same basis as the other companies (net, accounting-recognized revenue) — a segment record. The segment KPI Shinsegae discloses each quarter is total store sales including tenant-brand sales (KRW 2,017.0B, +15.5%), and that figure must never be summed or compared with this one · Facility investment and content upgrades at flagship stores (Main Store, Gangnam) drove revenue and profitability · Luxury +35%, fashion +10.1%, living +16.6%, food +13.7% · H1 foreign-customer revenue KRW 580.0B (+120%)
  • Hyundai Department Store — Highest quarterly revenue on record · H1 cumulative revenue KRW 1,276.4B (+8.3%), operating profit KRW 246.0B (+47.7%, highest H1 on record) · The Hyundai Seoul and Trade Center store foreign-customer revenue up +134%/+131% respectively (about 20% of sales)
  • Galleria Department Store — ⚠️ Consolidated basis (Hanwha Galleria company-wide) — the department store segment alone is not separately disclosed · Swung from a KRW 4.8B loss a year earlier to profit (net income also swung to a KRW 5.1B profit)
  • AK Plaza — An unlisted company — Q2 department store segment figures were not separately disclosed

2026 Q1 Department Store Segment Revenue

Unit: KRW billion · AK Plaza's Q1 segment figures were not disclosed

Lotte Department Store
₩872.3B
Shinsegae Department Store
₩734.5B
Hyundai Department Store
₩632.5B
Galleria Department Store
₩126.1B
CompanyRevenueOperating ProfitOperating MarginRevenue YoYOperating Profit YoY
Lotte Department Store₩872.3B₩191.2B21.9%+8.2%+47.1%
Shinsegae Department Store₩734.5B₩141B19.2%+12.6%+30.7%
Hyundai Department Store₩632.5B₩135.8B21.5%+7.4%+39.7%
Galleria Department Store₩126.1B₩12.3B9.8%-2.4%+550.8%
AK PlazaN/AN/A———
  • Lotte Department Store — Domestic: revenue KRW 836.8B (+7.9%), operating profit KRW 183.5B (+43.5%); Overseas: revenue KRW 35.5B (+14.7%), operating profit KRW 7.6B (+268.7%, Vietnam and Indonesia growth) — combined domestic+overseas figures. Flagship-store revenue +19%, foreign-customer revenue +92% (Main Store +103%, about 23% of its sales)
  • Shinsegae Department Store — Put on the same basis as the other companies (net, accounting-recognized revenue) — back-calculated as H1 net revenue (KRW 1,473.0B) minus Q2 net revenue (KRW 738.5B). Operating profit of KRW 141.0B is also confirmed in Shinsegae Group's own official releases. Revenue YoY (+12.6%) is likewise back-calculated (from the H1 YoY of +15.0% and Q2 net-revenue YoY of +17.5%) — the segment KPI Shinsegae discloses each quarter is total store sales including tenant-brand sales (KRW 2,025.7B in Q1, +13.0%), and that figure must never be summed or compared with this one
  • Galleria Department Store — Operating profit YoY (+550.8%) looks huge only because the prior-year base was low
  • AK Plaza — An unlisted company — Q1 department store segment figures were not separately disclosed

Total Store Sales — Korea's Top 5 Department Store Chains (Annual)

Unit: KRW 100 million · 2020–2025 · An industry-wide sum that includes tenant-brand sales

2020
₩27,878.5B
2021
₩33,892.7B
2022
₩38,951.5B
2023
₩39,654.3B
2024
₩39,800.3B
2025
₩40,422.8B
YearTotal Store SalesYoYStoresNote
2020₩27,878.5B-6.3%67Declined due to COVID-19 impact
2021₩33,892.7B+20.5%——
2022₩38,951.5B+13.8%70Sharp growth on reopening base effect
2023₩39,654.3B+1.7%70YoY reported as +1.7% or +1.0% depending on source (both noted)
2024₩39,800.3B+0.9%68—
2025₩40,422.8B+1.6%65Self-calculated from summing per-company store sales (not an officially published industry YoY)

2025 Total Store Sales & Market Share

Unit: KRW billion · based on an industry compilation (Apparel News ranking of 65 stores)

Lotte Department Store
₩14,252.5B
Shinsegae Department Store
₩13,343.5B
Hyundai Department Store
₩9,104.9B
Galleria Department Store
₩2,709.9B
AK Plaza
₩1,012B
CompanyStore CountTotal Store SalesYoYMarket Share
Lotte Department Store31 stores₩14,252.5B+3.0%35.2%
Shinsegae Department Store13 stores₩13,343.5B+5.7%33.0%
Hyundai Department Store12 stores₩9,104.9B+4.0%22.5%
Galleria Department Store5 stores₩2,709.9B+0.2%6.7%
AK Plaza4 stores₩1,012B-8.0%2.5%

Data Notes

  • The annual total store sales series (industry compilations such as Apparel News, including tenant-brand sales) and the segment revenue above (each company's own disclosures/IR, accounting-recognized revenue) are different concepts. Do not sum or directly compare the two series — Shinsegae Department Store, in particular, reports total store sales as its quarterly segment KPI, so its scale differs sharply from the H1 disclosed revenue (accounting revenue) above.
  • In the annual table, 2023's YoY is reported as either +1.7% or +1.0% depending on the source, so both are noted. 2025's YoY is self-calculated by summing the five companies' individual store sales — it is not an officially published industry-wide YoY. 2021's store count is left blank because no confirmed figure was found.
  • The quarterly/H1 tables are not a complete annual time series. Most of 2018–2024 is still blank because segment-level department store figures haven't yet been extracted from the original annual reports; only values confirmed in public disclosures, IR materials, or industry compilations are included.
  • AK Plaza is an unlisted company, so its 2026 Q1, Q2, and H1 department store segment figures were not separately disclosed.
  • Verifying Lotte Department Store's H1 revenue: press coverage varied widely (from KRW 1.7243 trillion to KRW 4.5233 trillion), so we cross-checked it directly. We used KRW 1.7635 trillion (+8.7%), which exactly matches summing the Q1+Q2 revenue above (KRW 872.3B + 891.2B) and was confirmed by two independent outlets; we did not adopt KRW 4.5233 trillion, which would equal 64% of Lotte Shopping's consolidated H1 revenue (KRW 7.0666 trillion) — far out of line with the 24–26% share department stores held each quarter. Operating profit of KRW 310.9B is consistent across every source.
  • Shinsegae Department Store's H1 revenue and operating profit were confirmed by only one outlet (The Tracker), so they were not cross-verified the way Lotte's and Hyundai's were. No H1 total was found in press coverage for Galleria, so its figure is a simple sum of the Q1+Q2 values.
  • Hyundai Department Store's H1 figures (revenue KRW 1,276.4B, operating profit KRW 246.0B) are the company's official announced figures. Simply adding the Q1+Q2 revenue and operating profit above gives KRW 1,276.3B and KRW 245.9B — each KRW 100 million lower, a gap from rounding each quarter's figure — so we used the official H1 figure.
  • Shinsegae Department Store, total vs. net revenue: Shinsegae's revenue in the Q1/Q2 tables above (KRW 734.5B and KRW 738.5B, a segment record in Q2) is on the same net-revenue basis (accounting-recognized) used for Lotte and Hyundai. The segment KPI Shinsegae discloses each quarter is total store sales including tenant-brand sales (KRW 2,025.7B in Q1, KRW 2,017.0B in Q2), and that figure must never be summed or compared with the net figures above. Operating profit is the same either way — KRW 141.0B in Q1 and KRW 108.8B in Q2, for an H1 total of KRW 249.8B.
  • For revenue and profit/loss by outlet operator, see Outlet Sales.
Apparel News — 2025 sales ranking of 65 stores across Korea's top 5 department store chainsApparel News — annual department store sales ranking archiveKorea Textile News — annual department store sales wrap-up coverageElectronic Times — department store industry earnings wrap-up coverageDART (Korea's electronic disclosure system)Lotte Shopping IR archiveShinsegae IR archiveHyundai Department Store Group IR archiveHanwha Galleria WiseReport company overviewHyundai Department Store 2026 Q2 earnings — Electronic TimesLotte Shopping Q1 operating profit KRW 252.9B, boosted by department stores — Businesspost (2026-05-12, Lotte Department Store Q1 domestic/overseas revenue and operating profit)Department stores lead, hypermarts push — Lotte Shopping smiles — Money Today (2026-05-12, Lotte Department Store Q1 results)Lotte Shopping 2026 Q2 department store earnings — BusinesspostShinsegae Department Store 2026 Q2 earnings — BusinesspostHanwha Galleria 2026 Q2 earnings — Businesspost[The Tracker 2026 H2 Retail Report] Hyundai Department Store's H1 operating profit KRW 245.9B — highest profitability among the top 3 (The Tracker — H1 revenue and operating profit for Lotte, Shinsegae and Hyundai, based on FSS DART and each company's H1 report)Hanwha Galleria Q2 operating profit KRW 15.1B, swings to profit YoY — Ajunews (2026-08-13, Q2 revenue and operating profit disclosure)Lotte Department Store's H1 operating profit up 59.4%, driving Lotte Shopping's H1 improvement — Consumer News (2026-08-07, H1 revenue and operating profit — its revenue figure differs sharply from other outlets and was not adopted; see the page's data notes)